WORKERS’ COMP FAQ

WORKERS’ COMP FAQ

If you were recently injured in a workplace accident , you may be curious to know what rights you have under Florida’s workers’ compensation laws. You are urged to contact Steven Wingo, Attorney at Law to learn more about your rights in a complimentary consultation. Ocala Workers’ Compensation AttorneySteven Wingo takes great pride in helping Ocala’s injured workers and he would be glad to help you too!

WHY STEVEN WINGO, ATTORNEY AT LAW?

  • BV Distinguished® Rated by Martindale-Hubbell®
  • 9.8 Superb Avvo Rating
  • Member of the Million Dollar Advocates Forum®
  • Offers free case evaluations

Below you will find a list of frequently asked questions about workers’ compensation in Florida. For further information, please feel free to contact Steven Wingo, Attorney at Law directly.

AM I COVERED?

If your employer is in construction and has just one employee, your employer is required to carry insurance. If your employer is in any other industry and has four or more employees, full or part-time, your employer is required to carry workers’ compensation insurance.

HOW SOON DO I REPORT MY INJURY?

You should report your work-related injury or illness to your employer as soon as possible, but no later than 30 days of the injury, or from the date your doctor told you that you were suffering from a work-related injury. If you fail to report your injury or illness within 30 days, your claim can be denied.

WHICH MEDICAL EXPENSES ARE COVERED?

All necessary medical treatment related to your injury should be covered and this includes: doctor’s visit, hospitalization, prescriptions, physical therapy, medical tests, and prostheses.

CAN I SEE MY OWN DOCTOR?

You should not go to your own doctor for medical treatment. The insurance carrier must authorize the doctor who treats you.

WHAT TYPES OF BENEFITS ARE AVAILABLE?

Workers’ compensation benefits include: temporary total disability, temporary partial disability, impairment benefits, medical benefits, permanent total disability benefits, and death benefits.

HOW SOON CAN I RECEIVE WORKERS’ COMP?

If your doctor says that you are unable to work because of your work-related injury or illness, you will not receive temporary disability benefits for the first 7 days of disability, unless your disability lasts more than 21 days.

HOW MUCH AM I ENTITLED TO?

It depends, you should receive money that equals 66 2/3% of your wages at the time you were hurt, subject to a statewide maximum reimbursement amount. With certain severe injuries, you may be entitled up to 80% of your regular wages for up to 6 months after the accident.

Do you have more questions? Contact the firm today to schedule a free initial consultation!